Practice Areas
Protecting Injured Clients Across Massachusetts
Your Rights Matter

Is there a waiting period for workers' compensation in Boston?

Although the workers' compensation program is designed to be as simple as possible, it does not usually feel that way to injured workers. Unless you have experience with the program, workers' comp can be confusing. This is especially true when it comes to when you can receive your compensation.

In Massachusetts, there is indeed a waiting period before an injured worker can receive compensation. If your injuries do not incapacitate you for a period of five days, then you will not receive compensation. For example, if you strain your ankle at work and have to take only three days away from your job, you will not be compensated for lost wages.

If your injuries prevent you from earning your full income for 21 days or longer, then you will receive worker's compensation that covers the full period. This means you will receive compensation for the initial five-day wait period to be paid retroactively once 21 days have passed.

If you suffer work injuries that take you away from your job for less than 21 days but more than five days, then your compensation period will begin on your sixth day out of work and will continue until you return to your job.

The workers' compensation system exists to ensure your financial support during the duration of your time away from your job. However, it can be a complex program depending upon the nature of your work, your injuries and your recovery time. This is why it is so important to report any injuries you suffer on the job immediately. You can also turn to a legal professional to help you overcome any obstacles that may stand between you and your rightful compensation.

Source: FindLaw, "Massachusetts Workers' Compensation Laws," accessed Dec. 27, 2017

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information