Finding Answers For Injured Workers
When you have been injured on the job, you’re left with many uncertainties. Barry D. Lang, M.D. & Associates, is built up of both medical professionals and lawyers. We can assist in finding you proper care and proper legal representation. For decades, we have worked with clients throughout Massachusetts. Our job is to answer all of your questions and help you find solutions.
After reading through the list of frequently asked questions below, call our office in Boston at 1-877-LAW-DOCS to schedule a free consultation today. You can also email us by filling out our contact form online.
Read our Frequently Asked Questions page for answers to your general questions
How long do I have to be employed in order to be covered?
The Massachusetts Workers’ Compensation Act protects all employees from the minute they are hired. This means that there is no waiting period for coverage to become official. Everyone injured at work is covered by this law.
What is the maximum and minimum amount of compensation I can receive?
Every October, this number is updated. Currently, the maximum amount you can get is $431.66 per week. The minimum, on the other hand, is $286.33 per week. The only time this is different is if your weekly wage is less than $236.33. We will do everything we can to make sure you can financially secure while you are healing from an injury.
Do I have to pay taxes on the benefits I receive?
No. Workers’ compensation payments are not taxed at the state or federal level.
Can I use my own doctor?
Yes. However, it is important to know that your employer may require you to see a specific medical provider for your initial visit. After your first appointment, you can be treated by whomever you wish. Note that you can only switch doctors once. After that, you have to get permission from your employer or the insurer.